Founders Award
Honors & Awards

The National Golf Coaches Association Founders Award is presented annually to a currently employed women’s Division I, II or III collegiate head or assistant women’s golf coach. The nominated coaches for this award must be current members of the NGCA. The criteria for selection of the award winner are based solely on accomplishments and service for the past 12 months.

  1. The Award Candidate is a current women’s collegiate head or assistant golf coach at a Division I, II or III institution with at least three years experience in this/these position(s). 
  2. The Award Candidate has made a service contribution to the National Golf Coaches Association during the past 12 months by either participating on the NGCA Board of Directors, sitting on active committee or otherwise assisting in fulfilling the association’s mission. 
  3. During the previous 12 months, the Award Candidate has made service contributions to her or his respective Conference, the NCAA, the USGA, PGA, LPGA, and/or other allied golf associations. 
  4. During the previous 12 months, the Award Candidate has made service contributions in her or his local or university setting. She or he has contributed through service activities (outreach programs) through promotion of her or his student athlete’s activities, or through service to charitable organizations. 
  5. During the previous 12 months, the Award Candidate has promoted the game of golf, locally, regionally, or nationally via her or his participation in activities such as sports camps, instructional clinics, junior golf programs, tournament management, etc. 
  6. During the previous 12 months, the Award Candidate has conducted service orientated activities and received recognition for her or his efforts either at the local, regional, or national levels.

*Individuals considered for the NGCA Founders Award are not required to have fulfilled all of the award criteria as stated above in order to be considered as a candidate for the award.

The NGCA Board votes upon nominated individuals in January and recignizes the recipient at the NGCA Business Meeting typically held at the Member Convention.

Recipient Year University
Amy Bush 2011 UNLV
Mary Lou Mulflur 2010 University of Washington
Kelley Hester 2009 University of Georgia
Janet Carl 2008 University of Cincinnati
Diane Daugherty 2007 Southern Illinois University
Denise St. Pierre 2006 Penn State University
Therese Hession 2005 The Ohio State University
Rise Lakowske 2004 Oregon State University
Pam Tyska 2003 Northern Illinois University


Women's Golf Coaches Association
5905 NW 54th Circle, Coral Springs, FL 33067
Phone/Fax: 800-381-0769